Board of Directors

Who's on the Ethical Consumer board?

The board of Ethical Consumer is made up of:

  • 5 Worker Directors (elected by the worker members)
  • 2 Non-Executive Directors (appointed by the board)
  • 2 Investor Member Directors (elected by the investor members)

Worker Directors

  • Rob Harrison
  • Tim Hunt
  • Leonie Nimmo
  • Jane Turner
  • Heather Webb
Image: Worker Directors
Image: Ruth Rosselson

Ruth Rosselson (Chair) - Investor Member Director

Ruth Rosselson worked for Ethical Consumer between July 1997 and September 2007 when she went off to Madagascar for a year's adventure working for Blue Ventures conservation. Since she returned in 2008 she has had a range of freelance roles encompassing writing, research, coaching, training and consultancy. She now works for Manchester Mind as their resilience co-ordinator delivering and developing wellbeing and mindfulness courses and does the occasional freelance writing gig.

Image: Dan Welch

Daniel Welch - Investor Member Director

Dr. Daniel Welch is a Research Associate at the Sustainable Consumption Institute and lectures in Sociology at the University of Manchester. His research interests include understanding processes of social change, behaviour change, consumption, economic sociology, corporate sustainability and sustainability communications. From 2006-2011 he was a researcher and writer with Ethical Consumer, and between 2008-2011 was co-editor of Ethical Consumer magazine. He has also worked as a copywriter specialising in sustainability issues and undertakes occasional consultancy projects.

Image: Shaun Fensom

Non-Executive Directors

Shaun Fensom - Non-Executive Director

Shaun is a specialist in the digital sector and within digital infrastructure development. He has 25 years’ experience setting up and running internet businesses and is Chair and senior consultant at the Community Broadband Network, and a founding director of Manchester Digital. Shaun co-founded Poptel, the pioneering co-operative on-line services provider that became one of the UK’s first ISPs and went on to launch the .coop top level internet domain in the first round of new domains in 2001. He was co-opted on the Ethical Consumer board in 2009.

Image: Sam Kimmins

Sam Kimmins - Non-Executive Director

Sam Kimmins is Head of the RE100 corporate campaign that brings together the world's most influential companies committed to 100% renewable power. He has 20 years’ experience translating industry-leading practice into commercial opportunity across the shipping, aviation, food, construction & NGO sectors. For the past 7 years Sam has worked with companies across multiple sectors to develop & embed sustainability strategy, as Principal Sustainability Advisor at Forum for the Future.

Previously, Sam spent 10 years developing and embedding sustainable design strategies for major built environment projects at WSP and Beyond Green. Clients included Bovis Lend Lease, B&Q, Savilles, Sir Robert McAlpine, Emirates Stadium and Heathrow Airport Terminal 5.